Couch to 5K

today marks my first day of doing the Couch to 5K program. i am not a runner. in 6th grade i was the kid in PE who refused to run the mile, i walked ambled it. but short distances, i was quite fast. “I’m wasted on cross-country! We Dwarves are natural sprinters, very dangerous over short distances.” ~Gimli, The Two Towers

i’m flat footed, my feet hurt after awhile. and once, a couple of years ago while playing soccer, i hauled ass to get to the ball and my lower back hurt for a week after. i’m usually not out of breath by the time my feet hurt and yet i gotta stop. it’s disheartening & it sucks. this year, i hope to combat that. i’ve been taking yoga for awhile now, in the hopes of strengthening my back and pretty much learning how to stretch my limbs properly. i plan to invest in proper running footwear if i last this month.

the bff is joining in the fun, i’ve a coworker coming with me to the gym during lunch AND i’ve a few friends who will start to pester me to join their running group when the weather is warmer. i will tackle this Life List like it’s my second J.O.B.

i am so very hopeful to be able to complete this.

2 responses to “Couch to 5K

  1. It is simple. Go to this store and prepare to be there for an hour. They will look at your foot, watch you run, and basically get you the BEST shoe for you! I should know because Drew, my brother, works at the Fleet Feet here in Nashville, Tn.

    http://www.fleetfeetbaltimore.com/

    Good luck!

  2. Pingback: one year of running | Some Mad Hope

Leave a Reply

