3+ shows

in the last 8 days i’ve been to three shows, one of which was a life lister and the last was a childhood dream.

1. Sugarland, Matt Nathanson & Little Big Town at Merriweather Post Pavilion. worth the $200 i dropped. that Jennifer Nettles. her voice just sucks you in, chews you up and spits you out, leaving you overwhelmed and panting for more.
2. Matt Nathanson’s super secret special show in Vienna, VA. i sat in traffic for over 2 hours, after a day long golf tournament for work, for this man and it was worth every drop of sweat. there is sad part to the story: i was driving behind the venue with my cousin kim looking for parking and who do i see get out of his rental truck? the man i would be willing to spawn for. i fangirled like it was my J.O.B. but i looked a hot tranny mess and i was not about to introduce myself to him looking like that. i have crazy ass hope that in the next year or so as he’s touring to promote his album i’ll have more chances to meet him. until then, i whimpered and squealed in my car.
3. New Kids on the Block & the Backstreet Boys. i was in 6th grade when i first Donnie Wahlberg. i crushed on him. seeing him in bejeweled celtics jersey sunday night… well… thank gawd he has a seemingly thriving acting career. this was my 2nd time seeing BSB (don’t judge me). it was a great show. they’re not kids or little boys anymore but they still have appeal.

i’ve one more concert in the works this year: U2, another life lister. i do hope to make it to more shows this year, notably the Zack Brown Band, but we’ll see.

i kinda sweat her...

One response to “3+ shows

  1. Hey back! I’m enjoying your blog … love the title. When I met Nathanson, both times he was playing at smaller venues which made it easier to approach him. You just have to be patient and find the balls to talk to him because Matt is probably the most down-to-earth, gregarious musician you will ever meet. If I were you, that first time, I would have beelined it over, hot mess and all. He was sweating profusely the first time I met him and he kept apologizing. But I was like, “Are you kidding? I don’t care … bring it!” I hope you see/meet Matt soon. I hope to see/meet him again in Sept. when he plays at Kansas City — opening for Train and Maroon 5. BTW, I’m dreaming of seeing U2 myself. It’s been on my list forever!

Leave a Reply

